Attach an item file

Item files are identified but not included (isFileIn="No") in a PDX package.

Item files are typically "background" files like vendor quotes, correspondence, sketches and other information not associated with a specific iteration. Item files are not as tightly controlled as iteration files, and any item file can be added, modified or deleted regardless of the release state of the item's iteration(s).

  1. Select the item window's Files tab, then select the Item Files tab.

  2. Unlock the item window by pressing your keyboard's F2 key.

  3. Within the files list area, right-click to open the context menu.

    The file is not copied to the library unless PDXpert has exclusive access to the file. If the file is open in another application, you may receive a warning. Close the file in the other application and retry the attachment.

    The file is not copied into the library until you save or lock the item record. After the file is saved, any changes made to your local copy won't affect the file that you attached to the Item Files list.

    Do not attach a Windows link (.lnk) file. The real data file is not saved, and the link file doesn't contain information that's useful to other computers.

    Compressed files — .zip, .7z, .rar, and similar files — should be created only on a Windows PC. See Program concepts > File attachments.

    PDXpert does not move, change or delete the source file on your computer.

    • Right-click within the Item Files list to open the context menu. Select the Add New File... command and then use the Add File to Library dialog to browse to your file. Select the file and click the Open button.

    • Open Windows Explorer and select one or more files to drop. You can multi-select files by using shift-click, control-click or by dragging a selection rectangle to highlight the files. Drag one of the highlighted files from Windows Explorer and drop it onto the Files list (all selected files will follow).

      Ensure that at least some part of PDXpert's file list area is visible before you start the drag.

  4. You can override the default file access permissions for the file. Select Permissions... from the context menu to open the File Permissions dialog, and then set the View/Copy and Delete checkboxes. Regardless of the selections you make, the current iteration's trustee, as well as analysts, will always have permissions to the file.

  5. Lock the window (F2 key) to save the files to the server.

You can delete an attached file by unlocking the item, selecting the file, and pressing your keyboard's Delete key or selecting Delete File from the context menu.

1161

Learn More
Help Guide Contents [PDF]