Remove your part

You can remove (delete) a pending part iteration from the database if it is not used by another unreleased document, part or change form.

  • If there's only one iteration of the part, then removing the iteration deletes the entire part record from the database.
  • If there's more than one iteration of the part, then only the pending iteration is removed. Any released or canceled iteration remains in the database.

If you are the part iteration's trustee or a part analyst, then you're permitted to remove the part iteration only while it's at the Pending release state.

If a part has no released iteration, and it appears on a pending item's References, BOM or Sources list, then it's blocked from deletion. You can remove the part from the system only after you edit these lists to remove the part. Pending iterations appearing on a change form's Affected list must always be deleted from the change form before they can be removed from the system.

To remove a pending part record:

  1. Open the part. If the part record is already open and unlocked, then lock it by selecting Lock on the status bar, or pressing your keyboard's F2 key.

  2. On the Item menu, select the Remove Object command.

    The Remove Object command is applied to the active window. Do not select any other window. You cannot undo this command.

1141

Learn More
Help Guide Contents [PDF]