Originate a new change form

You originate (that is, create) a change form because you want to formally notify interested parties about some change or impact on managed items.

  1. To originate a new change form, you can perform any of these:

    • On the Item Explorer's New tab, in the Changes list, click on the appropriate row to create a new change form.

    • Select the Create New Change... from the Item menu (or press the F11 key). This opens a dialog in which you select the appropriate change form from the Type dropdown list. Note that the other tabs are irrelevant because the home organization is always the owner of the change, and every change's lifecycle starts at Originated. Click the Finish button to continue.

    • If you have a released change (for instance, a change request) that provides the basis for a subsequent change (such as a change notice), you can create a duplicate (Tools | Snapshot Duplicate...) and then convert it to the subsequent change form by selecting the appropriate value from the Type dropdown on the General tab.

      When you create a snapshot duplicate, the next number from the Change Forms member's Identifier sequence is assigned to the duplicate change form. If you convert to another change form that uses a different Sequence: Identifier collection member, then the Number value is replaced by the next value from the new change form's Identifier sequence.

  2. The new change form window opens with the next number for your selected change form automatically assigned. To complete the new change:

    1. On the General tab, enter the change description according to your organization's requirement. If visible, specify the Problem source and Change reason from the drop-down list boxes.

      Workflow emails include this description. Summarizing the change in the first sentence helps reviewers quickly scan their email in-box for important changes.

    2. Click on the Attributes tab, and enter whatever details are necessary to describe the change.

    3. Select the Affected tab. On the Item Explorer, locate and then drag each part and document that is affected by the change form onto the list.

      On implementing changes, you may see that other items are automatically added to the Affected list. In addition to items that you add, PDXpert automatically adds certain lower-level items to ensure that each item listed on the BOM, Sources and References lists has at least one released iteration available. For the rules that PDXpert applies, see the Change Form window reference > Affected tab help topic: How items are automatically added.

      If you want to add an item that's open in your workspace, close it before adding it to the change form's Affected list.

      After you've added an item to a change form, if you further modify it (specifically: create a new pending iteration, or change the BOM, source or reference markups), re-drop the item onto the Affected list to refresh its releasing/canceling data.

      Limit the number of items on the Affected list. It's easier to verify that your list is accurate, and reviewers are more careful checking a tightly-focused set of items.

      If you're changing a multi-level structure (for instance, an assembly with subassemblies), it's often easier to work "from the bottom up". Drop the lowest-level items onto the Affected list first, then the next-higher items. Always review the list before routing the change for approval.

      You can add dispositioning information to each affected item's releasing or canceling iteration. Expand the item to expose the iteration, and then select Add Disposition Cost from the iteration's context menu.

    4. Define additional participants in the review process by dragging Groups from the Collection Explorer onto the Reviewers tab. Similarly, drag new observers from the Persons collection onto the Observers list.

    5. To add computer files or web links to the change form, refer to the How to work with file attachments > Attach an item file and Attach an external link help topics.

  3. You can save the change form by:

    • selecting Save from the Item menu; or,

    • selecting Lock Object from the Edit menu (or pressing your keyboard's F2 key); or,

    • locking the change using the Lock selection in the form's status bar; or,

      Locking the item window

    • closing the change form window, which saves all modifications automatically.

    Saving a change form clears all of the undo history; you cannot undo any action that happened before the most recent save operation.

    PDXpert may display Cannot save or similar message when there is a conflict between the current database record and a previously-saved version. This conflict is often the result of editing related records in parallel. For example, adding a document to an engineering change updates both records; if the document has unsaved changes, the new affected item relationship conflicts with the unsaved record.

    To avoid this error, only one item at a time should be unlocked for editing. When you are done, close or lock the window before working on another item. This avoids database conflicts, and allows PDXpert to understand how to save your changes.

Processing the change form

You've originated the change form and can now process the change using the administrator-defined workflow.

If any item on the change form's Affected list is open in your workspace, close it before processing the change.

Depending upon the enabled change workflow states, you may:

  • Select the Process menu command Submit to Analyst. The analyst reviews the change form to ensure that it contains all of the information necessary to process it, and then forwards it to the reviewers for approval.
  • Select the Process menu command Route for Approval. The groups specified on the Reviewers list approve your proposed change form, hold it for further consideration, or disapprove it.

    When you select Route for Approval, you may see a Processing Error window. Refer to the help topic How to work with change forms > Fix change processing errors to resolve the error.

After you submit or route the change, you cannot modify it unless it is returned to you.

When a routed change form is returned to the Submitted or Originated state, it contains information on who approved and disapproved the change. Previous reviewers' name and response will be cleared when the change form is again processed to the Routed state.

1114

Learn More
Help Guide Contents [PDF]