Manage a released document

Once the document iteration has been released, you'll notice that much of the data that you could previously modify is now locked. In particular, the information that gives the document its unique identity (the owner, document type, number, revision and lifecycle) is now permanently established.

A specific document iteration is released only once, and can be a used until canceled. A released document can appear on any number of non-implementing change forms (such as a change proposal or stop ship) as necessary.

  • If any product families have been specified for the document, then some attributes can be modified by members of the product team even after the document has been released. Your administrator decides who is a product team member in the Product families collection. If you want to modify the "product team attributes" of a released document iteration, you must explicitly unlock it by selecting Unlock Object from the Edit menu.

  • If the released document's essential identifying elements (such as owner, type, or number) must be changed or the document has significant changes that affect its application or purpose, then you should create an entirely new document. The easiest method is to open the current document, then select the Snapshot Duplicate command from the Edit menu, and make your modifications to the newly-created copy.

  • If the modifications are less significant, such as making minor changes to the document attributes or references, or attaching an updated file to the Files tab's Revision Files list, then you should create a new iteration of that document.

    For details, see the Revising a released document topic.

  • Finally, if you discover a clerical error that requires a minor "off the books" correction, your administrator can edit certain fields specified by the Administrator Override user preference.

1071

Learn More
Help Guide Contents [PDF]