Delete a collection member

You cannot undo your deletion. The collection member is deleted immediately, without further confirmation.

Other users should not be using the system while you're working. Close all item records in your workspace before you begin.

If a person has reviewed change forms or been assigned tasks, it's a good idea to keep a permanent record of the person's activities. Instead of deleting or renaming the Persons collection member, remove the user account using the User Management tool and then set the Persons record inactive.

Confirm that the collection member is not used by members of the Data Transformations or Views collections.

Collection members in use cannot be deleted. Before removing a member from a custom collection, delete the collection member from every document, part, and change form where it's used. If the member is the default value on a type's custom attribute definition, assign a different collection member as the default value.

  1. Open the collection and select (click on) the existing member. The member becomes highlighted.

    Before deleting the collection's default member (shown in bold), first assign a different collection member as the default. You cannot reassign the default member of the Organizations collection.

  2. Right-click to open the member's context menu and select the Delete Member command.

    You can also delete a collection member by opening it and selecting Remove Object from the Item menu.

Deleting a custom collection

A custom collection may be deleted only if the collection and its members are not used anywhere in the application.

  1. Delete each member of the collection.

    • If a member cannot be deleted, then you must first remove it from all items (documents, parts, change forms) that refer to it.

    • If the member is the collection's default, you must first clear the Default member of collection checkbox.

      If you later decide not to delete the custom collection, be sure to assign one of the collection members as the default member.

      1. Open the Tools menu | User Preferences..., mark the Administrator override checkbox, and lock (F2 key) the window.
      2. Open the collection's default member, unlock and clear the Default member of collection checkbox, and close the window.
      3. Delete the collection member.
      4. Clear and save the Administrator override checkbox.
  2. When all members are deleted, delete the collection name:

    1. Remove the collection from each Document Types, Part Types and Change Forms collection member's Custom list. Confirm that the collection is not used by members of the Data Transformations or Views collections.

    2. Select the collection in the Collection Explorer list, open the context menu, and select the Delete Collection command.

2061

Learn More
Help Guide Contents [PDF]