Set your preferences

Open the window by selecting Tools | Preferences...

Preferences are reset when you select Reset my accounts settings checkbox on log-in, and when your user account is recreated (for example, the account is changed from read-only to full-function).

General tab

Copy me on email notices that I trigger

As you process a change form or assign tasks, emails may be sent to other people. You already know about these activities, so the system doesn't normally send these notices to you. However, mark this checkbox to include yourself in the email distribution.

Confirm exit when application is closed

If you sometimes click on the client application's close box instead of an item window close box, or press Alt+F4 (close application) rather than Ctrl+F4 (close window), marking this checkbox will display a confirmation dialog for you.

Administrator override

If you have been assigned an administrator role, then you can enable this option to make limited clerical changes to released items. This option is intended only to handle tasks and fix minor text errors that can't otherwise be changed. This option isn't used to modify attributes normally managed by the item trustee, analysts and product team members.

This function suspends system rules that protect released database records. You can severely damage your data by attempting to modify BOM, reference or source relationships, or by adding or removing revision files. Use this function to modify only the listed attributes.

Back up your database before making changes, and check your work carefully.

To protect your data from accidental changes, mark this checkbox only when necessary, and clear it as soon as the task is finished. As a further safety measure, this checkbox is cleared each time you close your PDXpert client.

While the option is enabled, the status bar displays Administrator override is active, and the following attributes may be modified:

  • Documents
    • Owner
    • Number
    • Revision
    • Lifecycle phase
    • Version
    • Revision area
    • Release description
    • Effective date
    • Revision file permissions
  • Parts
    • Owner
    • Number
    • Revision
    • Lifecycle phase
    • Version
    • Revision area
    • Release description
    • Effectivity
    • Revision file permissions
    • Default unit of measure

      Modifying a part's Default unit of measure value may also modify units assigned on bills of materials. Read the Part window reference > Attributes tab help topic.

    • BOM list (you must edit on the Markup list, and re-open the part window to see your changes in the Current list)
      • Quantity

      • Unit of measure (if permitted by the Lock part default unit of measure on BOM system rule)

      • BOM quantity category

      • Ref des

      • Notes

    • Changes to the Sources and References lists are controlled by Product Team permissions. See the Collections reference > General > Product families help topic.

  • Change Forms

    In many cases, these attributes can be modified only when the analyst is locked out. This often occurs after the change has been routed, or because the change is in the Canceled, Rejected or Completed state. Check to see if the change form's analyst can edit a value before using Administrator override.

    • Number
    • Originator
    • Analyst
    • Change reason
    • Problem source
    • Primary discussion field (e.g., change description)
    • Secondary discussion field (e.g., alternate solutions)
    • Attributes tab
    • Custom tab
    • Related tab
    • Observers tab
    • Files tab
    • Notes tab
  • Custom collection member
    • Default member of collection

      This permits removing the default member so that the entire custom collection can be deleted.

Enable local views

Mark this checkbox if you want PDXpert to create and maintain a CAD part database on the local client machine. An ODBC application can obtain part data faster and more securely from the client's local database than from the server.

The Enable local views option is available only when the current user has been assigned a Roles collection member that includes the Allow local views on user computer permission. If local views are not permitted or enabled, then the client machine's local views database is not created or, if previously created, is no longer refreshed.

When the PDXpert client is open, the local database is refreshed every 10 minutes. In addition, newly-created items and items with modified summary data (owner, number, description) are copied to the local views database whenever the PDXpert client requests any data from the server (for example, running a search or opening any record).

When the PDXpert client is closed, the local database isn't refreshed. However, your ODBC application can use the previously-copied data.

There are two client-side ODBC database options available:

  • Using SQLite database: When you enable local views, PDXpert creates a SQLite 3 database. Choose this option if you want PDXpert to always use SQLite, even if SQL Server LocalDB is installed on the client computer. You must separately install a SQLite 3 ODBC driver for your ODBC client application, and use SQLite syntax in your user-defined views. See the How to report, import & export > View & export via ODBC > Create an ODBC connection help topic.

  • Using SQL Server LocalDB: Install LocalDB when SQL Server compatibility, performance and multi-session access are important. LocalDB supports some CAD applications that can't be used with SQLite. The PDXpert website's Installation Guide describes installing LocalDB and ODBC driver on the client computer.

    If your computer doesn't have LocalDB installed, then PDXpert updates the SQLite database instead. For example, your office computer may have LocalDB installed, but your preference is ignored if your home computer does not. To support both SQLite and SQL Server LocalDB, use generic SQL syntax that's compatible with both, write distinct user-defined views for each, or use your ODBC client application to query the public views.

Out of office agent

When you must be out of the office, you can select another user to act on your behalf. Each time you log into the PDXpert client application, your agent is obtained and displayed in the status bar. Notify the selected person before you leave, and clear your selection when you're again available to act.

You can select only a person with a full-function user account.

A system administrator can modify or remove your selected agent with the User Management tool.

  • Your agent can manage all items where you are the trustee. A Product Families Denied list won't affect your agent's access to your items.
  • Your agent receives and can act on your task notices. In the Item Explorer's Tasks list, your agent sees tasks that are assigned to you, and by you.
  • Your agent receives your change workflow notices, and can review your change forms. When the agent approves or disapproves a change, the agent — not you — appears as the change reviewer. Your agent may act on change forms where you are the assigned analyst.
  • If you are listed on the Product Team of a Product Families collection member, then the agent is also a temporary member of that product team.
  • If you are an analyst, your agent is also an analyst — even if your agent hasn't been assigned a role with Is an analyst permissions.
  • If you are a system administrator, then your agent is also an administrator. However, if you are the super administrator, your agent is not assigned the super administrator permissions.
  • Your agent cannot authorize anyone else to work on your behalf. If your agent selects an agent, your permissions aren't passed to that person.
Add these product families to every new item that I create

You often may create a series of items for a particular design. If these items are restricted to a specific set of products, you can specify these here, and all new items will automatically be assigned the listed projects. You can modify the product families on the item after they've been assigned.

When using the External Data Importer tool, be sure that your user preference list is empty, or contains product families that you want assigned to new items. Your preferred list of product families does not have any effect on items that have been previously created, and are being updated.

Item Explorer: Previous items tracking limit

You can specify the number of items that are listed in the Item Explorer's Previous tab. If you have a slow network connection, you may want to limit the number of items that need to be loaded when the client is opened.

1035

Learn More
Help Guide Contents [PDF]